Personal tools
You are here: Home Science of Light Prize  
Document Actions

Science of Light Prize

Research into the Science of Light Prize 2017


The 3rd Prize for Research into the Science of Light will be awarded on behalf of the European Physical Society through its Quantum Electronics & Optics Division (QEOD) during Nanometa 2017. View information on the 2017 recipient of the Prize.

Information on the Prize:

The European Physical Society (EPS) Prize for Research into the Science of Light is a major prize awarded on behalf of the EPS through its Quantum Electronics & Optics Division (QEOD). The prize is awarded every 2 years in recognition of recent work by one or more individuals (no more than three) for scientific excellence in the area of electromagnetic science in its broadest sense, across the entire spectrum of electromagnetic waves.

The work for which the individual(s) is/are nominated must be such that a significant component of it was performed during the period 5 years prior to the award.  In addition, the award will recognize research for which a significant portion of the work was carried out in Europe or in cooperation with European researchers, and may be given for either pure or applied research.

The award will be accompanied by an engraved glass medal, certificate, and a monetary sum of € 2000,-

The Prize Ceremony and Lecture will be highlights of the EPS Nanometa Conference organized every 2 years.

For additional information on the Prize for Research into the Science of Light consult the EPS-QEOD web page.

Past recipients of the EPS-QEOD Prize for Research into the Science of Light:

2015 Miles Padgett   The 2015 Prize for Research into the Science of Light was awarded to Miles Padgett, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Glasgow, Glasgow, United Kingdom. The Prize was awarded to Professor Padgett for “internationally recognised work on optical momentum, including an optical spanner, use of orbital angular momentum in communication systems and an angular form of EPR paradox”.
2013 Prize Russell 

The 2013 Prize for Research into the Science of Light was awarded to Philip StJ Russell, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, Germany. The Prize was awarded to Professor Russell for "pioneering contributions into the physics and applications of photonic crystal fiber which have led to revolutionary advances in frequency metrology, and for the recent development of a flexible platform for gas-phase nonlinear optics that is enabling a new generation of experiments in ultrafast pulse dynamics, ionization physics and self-similarity".


Background Information on EPS-QEOD
The European Physical Society provides an international forum for physicists and acts as a federation of national physical societies. Founded in 1968, EPS plays a leading role in both scientific and policy activities within the community of European physicists. The Quantum Electronics and Optics Division (QEOD) of EPS acts as a focal point for European research in optics and photonics through its wide range of strategic activities, sponsorship and conference organisation. In addition to the above prize, it also awards Senior Researcher (Quantum Electronics and Optics), Young Researcher (Fresnel) and PhD Student Prizes. These will be announced shortly. See

European Physical Society
6 rue des Frères Lumière
F-68200 Mulhouse

Additional Information and Rules:

The on line application system is now closed. No additional requests can be received.

Nomination package had to include:

  • A cover letter provided by the nominator with proposed citation
  • A two-page summary of the significance of the work which is the subject of the nomination. For a nominated team of more than one person, the summary should clearly specify the individual contribution of each nominee, and when and where the work has been performed.
        Nominee CV(s)
  • A list of publications covering the last five years (a few earlier articles particularly relevant for the nomination can also be included).  Five articles of most significance should be highlighted.
  • Up to three letters of endorsement of the nomination.

    All material must be prepared in English and combined into either a single consolidated PDF file or a ZIP archive.  Please click the link below to access the submission site.

The prize jury consists of eight eminent researchers selected from amongst the QEOD board and current or past members of the Programme Committee of the Nanometa Conference. The President of the EPS also served on the prize jury. Patricia Helfenstein, EPS, will act as the Secretary (non-voting)

2015 Prize Jury:
1.      Philip Russell, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Erlangen, Germany - 2013 Laureate
2.      John Dudley, University of Franche Comté, FEMTO-ST, Besançon, France - EPS President
3.      Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA
4.      Lukas Novotny, ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
5.      Rainer Hillenbrand, CIC Nanogune, San Sebastian, Spain
6.      Andy Clarkson, ORC, University of Southampton, Southampton, United Kingdom
7.      Giulio Cerullo, Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy
8.      Luc Bergé, CEA, Arpajon, France - QEOD Chair and Chair of the present Jury.

2013 Prize Jury:

1.      Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania, USA – Chair
2.      Harry Atwater, CALTECH, USA
3.      Allan Boardman, Salford University, UK
4.      Mark Brongersma, Stanford University, USA
5.      John Dudley, EPS President
6.      Monika Ritsch-Marte, Innsbruck Medical University, Austria
7.      Moti Segev, Technion, Israel
8.      Victor Zadkov, Moscow State University, Russia


Follow Us

| |

Key deadlines

16 August 2016:
On line submission opens

10 October 2016:
Submission deadline

18 November 2016:
Authors notification

29 September 2016:
On line Registration opens

02 December 2016:
Pre-registration deadline

16 December 2016:
On line registration system closes


Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: