Personal tools
You are here: Home Science of Light Prize 3rd Prize for Research into the Science of Light  
Document Actions

3rd Prize for Research into the Science of Light


The 3rd Prize for Research into the Science of Light will be awarded on behalf of the European Physical Society through its Quantum Electronics & Optics Division (QEOD) during Nanometa 2017.

2017 Prize for Research into the Science of Light announced by the European Physical Society

Polman Light Prize

MULHOUSE, [10th of November, 2016] – The Quantum Electronics and Optics Division (QEOD) of EPS is delighted to announce that Prof. Albert Polman has been elected the winner of the 2017 prize for Research into the Science of Light "for mastering light at the nanoscale and for demonstrating novel applications in nanoscale optical circuits, photovoltaics, and super-resolution imaging". The prize will be awarded at the forthcoming 6th International Topical Meeting on Nanophotonics and Metamaterials (Nanometa) to be held in Seefeld, Austria from January 4-7, 2017.


Albert Polman is a scientific group leader at the FOM Institute AMOLF in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, and professor of photonic materials for photovoltaics at the University of Amsterdam.

Polman obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Utrecht in 1989, was a post-doctoral researcher at AT&T Bell Laboratories until 1991, and then became a scientific group leader at AMOLF. From 2006-2013 he also served as director of AMOLF.
Polman is one of the early pioneers in the research area of nanophotonics. His research group focuses on the realization of nanoscale metamaterials with tailored optical properties that do not exist in nature. He also designs and fabricates novel photovoltaic architectures with enhanced power conversion efficiency based on semiconductor and dielectric metasurfaces. Polman’s group is the inventor of angle-resolved cathodoluminescence microscopy, that is, a novel super-resolution microscopy technique that creates images with 10 nanometer resolution. The instrument is brought on the market by the start-up Delmic, which Polman co-founded.
Polman is an elected member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), Fellow of the Materials Research Society (MRS) and the Optical Society of America (OSA), and recipient of two ERC Advanced Investigator Grants (2011, 2016), the Physica Prize of the Dutch Physical Society (2014), the Julius Springer Award for Applied Physics (2014), the ENI Renewable Energy Prize (2012), and the MRS Materials Innovation and Characterization Award (2012).

Polman Light Prize presentation
Copyright: Photos of

Follow Us

| |

Key deadlines

16 August 2016:
On line submission opens

10 October 2016:
Submission deadline

18 November 2016:
Authors notification

29 September 2016:
On line Registration opens

02 December 2016:
Pre-registration deadline

16 December 2016:
On line registration system closes


Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: